Back in the States!

It’s been a couple of weeks since we returned from Japan, as I’m sure you know.  My return regimen seems to follow a six step process that works something like this:

Step 1:  Be happy you are home and have access to all your stuff/things (i.e. clothes, lotions, books, electronic devices).

Step 2:  Tell everyone you know about how awesome Japan was, but still be glad you are back with your people/stuff.

Step 3:  Look at and distribute all the stuff you got while in Japan, begin to feel sad that trip is over, continue to tell others how amazing Japan is.

Step 4:  Watch anime/look at pictures from trip and feel depressed you don’t live in Japan, because it is so awesome.

Step 5:  Begin to think about moving to Japan to fulfill your lifelong dream.

Step 6:  Start taking Japanese classes more seriously.

Now, in the past, this last step is pretty much where the process ended, and eventually I would give up on my dream believing it was impossible after Japanese classes got so hard that I was totally lost and hopelessly behind.  However, now that I’m older, wiser and more determined, Step 6 has lead to a new step:

Step 7:  Actually make a plan for how you’re going to move to Japan. 

Of course, this plan is still in its infancy, but it’s coming together.  I’m enrolling in language classes at Seattle Central this fall and I’ve tentatively scheduled Odyssey: Move to Japan for two years from now because that’s how long I think it’s gonna take for me to become fluent, find a job, and save up enough money that this plan might actually work. 

Now, you may be asking yourself, “But, Heidi, what about Jermaine?  How does he figure into your plans?  You certainly haven’t mentioned him up until this point?”  Never fear!  Jermaine is doing his thing, too.  We’d both like to live in Japan, I just don’t like to speak for him (“But, Heidi, you’ve been speaking for him this whole time.” No, I haven’t it just might seem that way to you.  He had full creative control over what was said about him in the journal, but I’m at work now and I’ll publish this before he has a chance to read it.)

So, it’s back to school for me (you didn’t honestly think I’d just stop going after all this time, did you?) and time to start studying up on Visa applications and all that nonsense.  I just hope the Dollar continues to be stronger than the Yen.

4 Responses

  1. And now I shall begin plan Visit Heidi in Japan in 2.5 Years. Lorne already knows how to say “Let’s drink beer!”

  2. Excellent! We’d love to have you!

  3. I am so excited for you! It’s about time you made up your mind to go—-what took you so long? I’ve had my bags packed for the last 13 years waiting to come visit you!!

  4. this is my favorite blog post yet! I’ll be in line to visit in 2011 as well! (that will be right after the south africa world cup so but now that I know you are going to be there, I can start saving for that too…)

Leave a Reply

